PDA

View Full Version : smallball



Price44
11-12-2008, 09:27 AM
So its been a few years since i played smallball and i wondering if there has been any changes made that i might need to know about? And what is a good FPS for when im training?

mlthmp
11-12-2008, 11:33 AM
Not much has changed really. Commish did make one minor change that I know of. Smallball runs much better now with java.com's version that with MS Java. He changed that awhile back.

Also, as far as FPS goes.. 99999 for running and throwing, and 333 for everyday training works best for me. However that can vary some from PC to PC. You just have be be careful with your FPS at 99999 because if you minimize at the wrong time you can burn an entire pie of TP on a +1 gain =(

Price44
11-12-2008, 02:01 PM
If i set my FPS to 333 will that give me less gains for my TP? and does chainging the FPS affect ST also or just DT?

LilChris2434
11-12-2008, 02:03 PM
What is FPS?

Price44
11-12-2008, 02:05 PM
Frames Per Second i believe... it changes how fast you train or something like that. im not quite sure?

LilChris2434
11-12-2008, 02:10 PM
Oh, thanks. I just train normally i think or idk, maybe :out:, i'm confused. :confused5:

mlthmp
11-12-2008, 02:13 PM
FPS only helps when you're training in DT. Has nothing to do with the ST at all.

In my personal experiences with FPS, 333 is best for general training. Just enough to really speed up training, without losing alot of TP when you minimize. 333 works well for most everything. I haven't noticed any real TP loss using 333. Only when you minimize at the wrong time using 99999

Price44
11-12-2008, 02:30 PM
thx

redbirds33
11-12-2008, 04:14 PM
Oh, thanks. I just train normally i think or idk, maybe :out:, i'm confused. :confused5:
Surely you would know if you had changed it. There's a specific file somewhere in your SmallBall file with a number you can edit. If you want to find it, do search to find directions on where it is.

jimmygfat
11-13-2008, 11:18 AM
Without the adjustment of FPS, I would not play Smallball. The main reason I quit playing last time was you could not adjust the the FPS with a updated DT version that Commish adjusted after I left. I have certain ideas about training and without adjusting FPS it would take a lot of extra time I just don't have.

mlthmp
11-17-2008, 01:25 AM
I tend to agree jimmy. If I couldn't set my FPS to at least 333 I wouldn't be training near as many teams as I am right now. Regardless of how many old, crummy PCs I have at my disposal lol.

I think some people look at changing FPS as cheating, but personally I look at it as a way to really open one's training up! Using FPS at only 333 I can train 2 or 3 teams in the time it takes me to train 1 with the normal setting (which is 33) add Timeshift into the mix and you can almost train 4 teams in the same time it takes to train one.